Spotlight : Big K.R.I.T.

I really didn’t know what I was talking about when I said that the South sucked. I mean yeah there are a lot of bad rappers, but i shouldn’t have generalized the South. The South has been relevant to the game for years with artists/groups like Outkast, UGK, Cunninlynguist, Goodie Mobb and so on and so on. And now it brought out another great artist : The Meridian, Mississippi based rapper Big K.R.I.T.

I recently discovered K.R.I.T. with the song “Dreamin“, the song immediately caught my attention, I was really feeling the lyrics and beat (which he produced himself ). So after I heard Dreamin’ I started to look for more songs / information. I discovered that he is on the XXL 2011 Freshman list ( even thought the list itself is questionable this year). And I also discovered that he released a mixtape / full length street album called : K.R.I.T. Wuz Here, which has been picked up by Def Jam for re-release (so no download link here sorry!). And that K.R.I.T. was about to drop a second mixtape / full length street album called : ReturnOf4Eva. I downloaded it after it dropped and put it on my awesome Samsung Galaxy phone and there hasn’t been a day that I didn’t listen to ReturnOf4Eva. It’s clear that K.R.I.T. can handle both the Mic and the production-boards. His beats have a certain southern bounce to it, that you either love or hate. He raps about everyday life, the struggle and rap industry with passion that makes me happy that there are still some real rappers coming up in the game.

Download ReturnOf4Eva at his website.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Kidd STRΔNGE

Philanthropist, Street Poet, Musical Genius & lvl 58 Dark Elf Wizard.
