Classic Album : Aaliyah – One in a Million

Its been 10 years since Aaliyah passed away. We’ve lost an amazing artist that day at such a young age, it’s true what they say: “The good die young”.  The first track I’ve heard was probably “Back & Forth” now mind you I was really young at the time so I wasn’t really aware who she was or anything. I remember perfectly well, the first time I consciously listened to Aaliyah was in ’98, my big sis bought (yeah people did that back in the days) a bunch of cd’s for in the car, because we were going on a trip. The cd’s were K-Ci and JoJo’s  Love Always, Brandy’s  Never Say Never, Mýa’s Mýa (that wasn’t as good as the rest in my humble opinion) and Aaliyah’s One in a Million. After hearing the first song I immediately liked the album and thus my first crush was born.

But seriously One in a Million is a classic in my eyes, words can’t describe how dope it was and still is! And don’t forget she was only 17th back then. There is like only one track I skip, the rest is just dope.

I don’t know what it is and I know I say it a lot, but 90’s RnB just had it all. Same goes for Aaliyah’s One in a Million, which was mostly produced / written by Timbaland & Missy Elliott.

You had tracks that makes you dance / had some umph like, “A Girl Like You ft. Treach (from Naughty By Nature)“,  “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright”, “Hot like Fire” “Got to Give It Up ft. Slick Rick”  It’s a cover off Marvin Gaye’s Got to Give It Up in the clip you see Aaliyah dancing besides Marvin, it’s just heartbreaking now thinking she isn’t here anymore either. And probably the most famous song on the album “If Your Girl Only Knew”

Love songs that were just great as, “One in a Million” can’t believe how dope the song is. Can’t forget “4 Page Letter” are you hearing it? Can you hear how amazing this song is? It doesn’t get better than this man. And of course the duet “Never Givin’ Up” with Tavaris Polk. Okay last one “Heartbroken” again a track that is just great.

I could go on and on but every track on the album is dope, it’s ridiculous even the intro and outro are dope.

 

Tags: , , , ,

About Kidd STRΔNGE

Philanthropist, Street Poet, Musical Genius & lvl 58 Dark Elf Wizard.

2 responses to “Classic Album : Aaliyah – One in a Million”

  1. Niek Dekker says :

    Dope. Check ook deze link, tribute-mixtape: http://sized.nl/

Leave a Reply

