The Roots – Make My ft. Big K.R.I.T. + Tracklist Undun

Its been a big The Roots news day, after last weeks announcement of a new concept album titled Undun, that will be released on December the 6th. The roots dropped the tracklist of their upcoming album today with a statement by ?uestlove.

1. Sleep
2. Make My ft. Big K.R.I.T.
3. One Time
4. Kool On
5. The Jump
6. Stomp
7. Lighthouse
8. I Remember
9. Tip The Scale
10. Redford

Now the first thing that popped in my mind after checking out the tracklist was, damn only 10 tracks that’s hella short. But then I read the statement and it all made sense.

“At this point in our career we’d like for our work to have a unifying theme, and an experiential quality. We’ve been intentionally making our albums shorter in length so that they can be experienced as a continuous work. The music is band-oriented with an eye on the moody cinematic. As a DJ, I am the King of playlists, but I don’t want our albums to feel like a playlist or a mixtape for that matter. We want to tell stories that work within the album format and we want the stories to be nuanced and useful to people. Undun is the story of this kid who becomes criminal, but he wasn’t born criminal. He’s not the nouveau exotic primitive bug-eyed gunrunner like Tupac’s character Bishop in Juice… he’s actually thoughtful and is neither victim nor hero. Just some kid who begins to order his world in a way that makes the most sense to him at a given moment… At the end of the day… isn’t that what we all do?”

I’m really excited for this album and I’m really diggin the concept of telling a story trough the album (backwards even). I don’t say this often so when I say it you know I mean it but I’m a fan of The Roots they’ve been in the game for so long but there still relevant and still make good music. They are the perfect example for being successful without selling their soul.

Anyways check out the first leak of  “Make My” featuring The Def Jam label mate Big K.R.I.T.

Tags: , ,

About Kidd STRΔNGE

Philanthropist, Street Poet, Musical Genius & lvl 58 Dark Elf Wizard.

Leave a Reply

