Soul Sunday’s : Northern Soul Special

After the last week’s Super Soul Sunday it’s kinda hard for me to trump that, especially cause I’m a lazy bum who needs to stop playing Call of Duty and needs to start getting his ass in gear. So I didn’t want to go back to the regular S.S. just yet. So I came up with doing a Norther Soul special. Now even though I claim to be a Music Aficionado my music knowledge isn’t on the same level compared to some other cats, so I had to do a little form of research (thank G.O.D. for Google) before telling you anything about Northern Soul. After an intense 5 whole minutes of research this is what I found out:

Northern soul is a music and dance movement that emerged from the British mod scene, initially in northern England in the late 1960s. Northern soul mainly consists of a particular style of black American soul music based on the heavy beat and fast tempo of the mid-1960s Tamla Motown sound. The northern soul movement, however, generally eschews Motown or Motown-influenced music that has met with significant mainstream success. The recordings most prized by enthusiasts of the genre are usually by lesser-known artists, and were initially released only in limited numbers, often by small regional United States labels such as Ric-Tic and Golden World (Detroit), Mirwood (Los Angeles) and Shout and Okeh (New York/Chicago).

So there you have it, I could’ve put in my on words and what not but let’s be real,  it’s Sunday I had a busy week and more importantly I’m a lazy douche so fuck it. So enough talk and let us check out some fine Northern Soul tunes. Have a great Sunday!

This track was the reason why I wanted to do this Special, I didn’t knew what Northern Soul was before this. Love the tune.

K.T.F.

 

 

Tags: , ,

About Kidd STRΔNGE

Philanthropist, Street Poet, Musical Genius & lvl 58 Dark Elf Wizard.

Leave a Reply

